Overflow schools for Svend Hansen School for 2024–25

As of July 1, 2024, there will be additional overflow designated schools for the Svend Hansen School attendance area. Kate Chegwin School will continue to be one of the overflow designated schools. **This will not affect any students currently attending the school.**

The overflow designated schools for Svend Hansen School will be divided into Laurel East and Laurel West. See how the neighbourhood is divided on this map.

Neighbourhood	Junior high overflow designated school
Laurel East	Kate Chegwin
Laurel West	T. D. Baker

Laurel East families

New resident students who newly move into the Laurel East neighbourhood can attend Svend Hansen School if the school is not full in that grade. If the grade is full, the student can:

- attend Kate Chegwin (7–9) schools, or
- · attend another Division school with space in planned classes, or
- remain at their current school.

Laurel West families

New resident students who newly move into the Laurel West neighbourhood can attend Svend Hansen School if the school is not full in that grade. If the grade is full, the student can:

- attend T. D. Baker (7–9) schools, or
- attend another Division school with space in planned classes, or
- remain at their current school.

All Laurel West students currently enrolled in Kate Chegwin may continue

<u>Edmonton Transit Service (ETS)</u> is the preferred transportation method for junior high students. If ETS is not available, eligible students attending their overflow designated school may be able to apply for yellow bus service.

Families who choose to attend another Division rather than an overflow designated school will need to make their own transportation arrangements to get their child to and from school.